Jorge photo.jpg

Jorge E. Galan

Lucille P. Markey Professor of Microbiology
Chair
Department of Microbial Pathogenesis
Yale University School of Medicine
Boyer Center for Molecular Medicine
295 Congress Av.
New Haven, CT 06536-0812
Phone:  (203) 737-2404
Fax: (203) 737-2630
e-mail: jorge.galan@yale.edu


Maria Lara-Tejero

Research Associate

HOMETOWN

Valladolid, Spain

EDUCATION

DVM - School of Veterinary Medicine, Complutense University of Madrid
PhD Microbiology - Yale University

RESEARCH INTEREST

All type III secretion

CONTACT

maria.lara-tejero@yale.edu


Xiang Gao

Postdoctoral Fellow

HOMETOWN

Taiyuan, China

EDUCATION

BS Biology - Shandong University China - 2007
PhD Structural Biology - Tsinghua University China - 2012

RESEARCH INTEREST

I study the pathogenesis of Salmonella typhi.

CONTACT

xiang.gao@yale.edu


Carmen Butan

Postdoctoral Fellow

HOMETOWN

Targu-Jiu, Romania

EDUCATION

PhD Biological Sciences - EMBL-Hamburg and University of London - 2004

RESEARCH INTEREST

I study the structural biology of the Salmonella Type III Secretion System.

CONTACT

carmen.butan@yale.edu


Kyoung Hoon Kim

Postdoctoral Fellow

HOMETOWN

Busan, South Korea

EDUCATION

BS Microbiology – Pusan National University - 2001
PhD Biochemistry – Seoul National University - 2014

RESEARCH INTEREST

I study structure of Type III secretion system in Salmonella and effector proteins.

CONTACT

kyounghoon.kim@yale.edu


Shu-Jung (Sue) Chang

Postdoctoral Fellow

HOME COUNTRY

Taiwan

EDUCATION

PhD - Life Sciences and Genome Sciences, National Yang-Ming University - 2013

RESEARCH INTEREST

I am interested in the trafficking pathways of typhoid toxin, an essential virulence factor of Salmonella Typhi.

CONTACT

shu-jung.chang@yale.edu


Sam Fels

Postdoctoral Fellow

HOMETOWN

St. Louis, MO

EDUCATION

BS Biology - Truman State University - 2009
PhD Microbiology - University of Missouri - 2015

RESEARCH INTEREST

I study the pathogenesis of Campylobacter jejuni and its interaction with the host microbiota.

CONTACT

samuel.fels@yale.edu


Xuyao Jiao

Research Scientist

HOMETOWN

Shandong, China

EDUCATION

BS Biology - Shandong University - 2007
MS Microbiology- Shandong University - 2010

RESEARCH INTEREST

I study the function of Typhoid Toxin

CONTACT

xuyao.jiao@yale.edu


Tobias Geiger

Postdoctoral Fellow

HOME COUNTRY

Germany

EDUCATION

BS Biology - Eberhard-Karls University of Tübingen - 2006
PhD Microbiology - Eberhard-Karls University of Tübingen - 2011

RESEARCH INTEREST

Pathogenicity of Salmonella enterica serovar Typhi, typhoid toxin, intracellular bacteria, bacterial toxins, host/pathogen interactions

CONTACT

tobias.geiger@yale.edu


Junya Kato

Postdoctoral Fellow

HOMETOWN

Fukushima, Japan

EDUCATION

BS  Agriculture - The University of Tokyo, Japan - 2001
MS  Biotechnology/Agriculture - The University of Tokyo, Japan - 2003
PhD  Biotechnology/Agriculture - The University of Tokyo, Japan - 2006

RESEARCH INTEREST

I study the molecular mechanism of the type III protein secretion in Salmonella.

CONTACT

junya.kato@yale.edu


Hui Sun

Postdoctoral Fellow

HOMETOWN

Gansu, China

EDUCATION

BS Biology - Lanzhou University - 2008
PhD Immunology - Peking University - 2013

RESEARCH INTEREST

I study the relationship between Salmonellaand human to expand our knowledge on the pathogenesis of Salmonella.

CONTACT

hui.sun@yale.edu


Gabrielle Stack

Postdoctoral Fellow

HOMETOWN

Kerry, Ireland

EDUCATION

BSc Biomedical Sciences - University College Cork, Ireland - 2010
PhD - Cardiff University, United Kingdom - 2015

RESEARCH INTEREST

I aim to develop an in vivo model to studySalmonella typhi and typhoid toxin pathogenesis.

CONTACT

gabrielle.stack@yale.edu


Casey Fowler

Postdoctoral Fellow

HOMETOWN

Kingston, ON, Canada

EDUCATION

BS Biochemistry - Queen's University, Kingston, ON, Canada - 2004
PhD Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences -McMaster University, Hamilton, ON, Canada - 2011

RESEARCH INTEREST

I am interested in improving our understanding of the biological program of typhoid toxin and its role in S. Typhi virulence

CONTACT

casey.fowler@yale.edu


Emily.jpg

Emily Guo

Postdoctoral fellow

HOMETOWN

Shandong, China

EDUCATION

BS Biology - Shandong University - 2006
PhD Developmental Biology- Shanghai Institute of Biochemistry and Cell Biology, Chinese Academy of Sciences - 2012

RESEARCH INTEREST

I study the structure and function of Salmonella type III secretion system and typhoid toxin neutralization.

CONTACT

emily.guo@yale.edu


Eduardo.jpg

Jose Eduardo Soto

Postdoctoral Fellow

HOMETOWN

Mexico

EDUCATION

BS Genomics - Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México - 2010
MS Biochemistry - Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México - 2012
PhD Biochemistry - Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México - 2017

RESEARCH INTEREST

I am interested in understanding how the type III secretion system functions at the molecular level.

CONTACT

jose.soto@yale.edu